Education Committee

Our Lady of Mercy School does not exist as a separate and discrete entity, but is a part of the Ministry of Education of B.C., the Independent Schools Branch of the Ministry, and the Catholics Independent Schools of Vancouver Archdiocese (CISVA). These are the organizations that set curriculum and policies that govern our school. Our local Education Committee is a sub committee of the Board of Directors of the CISVA. The duties of the EC are to oversee the general operation of the school, along with the pastor and the school principal, and to carry out the policies of the Board of Directors of the CISVA. The Education Committee is composed of seven members. Five are elected and two are appointed by the Pastor. Meetings are generally held the third Tuesday of every month.

Education Committee for 2019– 2020

Treasurer: Wilfrid Castillo
Vice Chairperson: Shun Chiang
Chairperson: Tony Simas
Fundraising: Aileen Madamba and Bernadette Banares
Secretary: Meryl Salon
Participation: Camelia Mezo
Building/Maintenance: Shun Chiang